Dr. James L. Mullins Award for Outstanding Contributions to Purdue Libraries and School of Information Studies

Award Categories

While serving as the Libraries’ Dean, Jim established the Dean’s Award for Sustained and/or Outstanding Contributions to the Libraries in 2007 to recognize individuals from within the staff and faculty of the Libraries, the Purdue Press and the University Copyright Office.

Through Dr. Mullins’s generosity, this award was endowed and named in 2020 to sustain this award and recognize faculty and staff in perpetuity for their outstanding contributions.

More information on how to apply coming soon!


  • 2023: Dean Lingley
  • 2022: Amy Storms, Heather Oakley
  • 2021: RaeLynn Boes
  • 2020: Tracy Grimm
  • 2019: Clarence Maybee
  • 2018: Victoria Thomas
  • 2017: Candy Scott
  • 2016: Katherine Purple
  • 2015: RaeLynn Boes & Annapurni Subramaniam
  • 2014: Teresa Balser & K. Sue Long
  • 2013: Vicki Killion & Dean Lingley
  • 2012: Diana Grove & Monica Kirkwood
  • 2011: Linda Rose
  • 2010: Sharon Sturgeon
  • 2009: Jacob R. Carlson & Brad Heiss
  • 2008: Lucy Scian Allen
  • 2007: Lil Conarroe

About Dr. James L. Mullins

Dr. Mullins served as the dean of Purdue Libraries from 2004 to his retirement in December 2017. Jim came to Purdue from MIT Libraries, where he was associate director for administration. Prior to MIT, he held senior administrative positions at Indiana University and Villanova University.

During his tenure at Purdue, Mullins’ leadership propelled Purdue Libraries to the forefront of academic and research library innovation, and he strengthened Purdue Libraries in all areas; championed the active-learning concept on campus; and established the W. Wayne Booker Endowed Chair in Information Literacy, a first of its kind in higher education, in Purdue Libraries. Additionally, Mullins was integral in establishing the Purdue University Research Repository (PURR), the Libraries Scholarly Publishing Services Division to advance scholarly communication, and the Distributed Data Curation Center in the Libraries’ Research Data unit.