Libraries Research Award

Award Categories

The Libraries Research Award was established in 2015 to recognize outstanding research or scholarship that substantially contributes to the field of library, archival and information science. It is awarded for an outstanding paper (s) or other resource that originated with or was led by a member of the Purdue Libraries faculty. Each spring the Faculty Affairs Committee (FAC) issues a call for nominations and the top three are shared with all Libraries faculty where they are invited to evaluate and comment on each nomination. The FAC will then consider responses and select the award recipient.


  • 2023: Gang Shao, Wei Zakharov
  • 2022: Heather Howard, Jason Reed
  • 2021: J.P. Herubel
  • 2020: Heather Howard, Margaret Phillips
  • 2019: Michael Flierl, Clarence Maybee, Rachel Fundator
  • 2018: Nicole Kong, Megan Sapp-Nelson
  • 2017: Sharon Weiner, Sammie Morris, Larry Mykytiuk
  • 2016: Michael Witt
  • 2015: Clarence Maybee