ATTENTION: We are currently in the process of moving to our new website located at http://www.lib.purdue.edu/.
Please make note of this and update your bookmarks accordingly. We apologize for any inconvience.
The Pharmacy, Nursing and Health Sciences Library has access to many electronic databases and print indexes and abstracts.
The print indexes and abstracts available in the library go back much farther than many of the electronic databases. This makes them a better source for older material. We have many indexes and abstracts that cover material not found in other electronic resources such as highly specialized topics.
The Pharmacy, Nursing and Health Sciences Library has access to many databases online. To find information in your field of research go to the Pharmacy, Nursing and Health Sciences Library Home Page and select your field from the Top Resources by Discipline. This will give you a list of relevant databases and a short description of each one.
All of the databases contain citations, many contain abstracts, and many contain some full text articles. For those databases that do not maintain full text archives, you will need to obtain print copies of the article.
These databases are independently maintained. This means that the Purdue Libraries do not have access to every journal and conference cited in the databases. You will need to search the library catalog for the journal or conference.
If the libraries do not have the journal or conference you are looking for, you may request it through InterLibrary Loan. Some of the electronic databases are only available to Purdue faculty, staff, and students and require verification either by using an on campus IP address or by logging in with your Career Account and password. To access most of the databases from off campus, you will be asked to input your career account and password into a Proxy Server prior to accessing the databases.
Please ask at the reference desk if you have any questions about searching the databases or the catalog.